Home > Media > News

Original Source Boardriders Battle #OSABB

Coffs Harbour Boardriders will be celebrating long and hard after knocking over Snapper to win the teams’ relay division and take second place in the overall points in their 50th year celebrations. Coffs were outstanding on the final day led by Jayke Sharp. Culburra Boardriders finished third overall despite being eliminated from the teams’ relay division on Saturday.

The powerful Snapper Rocks lineup consisted of: Joel Parkinson, Mitch Crews, Mitch Parkinson, Reef Doig, Holly-Daze Coffey Sheldon Simkus, Quinn Bruce, Jay Phillips, Wayne Bartholomew (coach) and Lorraine Bryant (coach) and were eventually winners of the entire event.

Parkinson said the club was extremely proud to be taking home the title back to Queensland.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots, boardriders event series with $120,000 in prize money. It involved Australia’s best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting last October and culminating in this weekend’s, two-day National Final.

Each club team included one junior (Under 18) surfer, four Open age surfers, and one over 35 surfer. Each team must include one female surfer. An exciting event format had teams battle it out in a women’s division, five-person teams’ division and a men’s skins competition for the overall title.

In several special awards also presented, Jayke Sharp (Coffs Harbour Boardriders) was awarded the Wayne Bartholomew Medal for the best performing male surfer at the National Final. Stacey Holt (Point Lookout Boardriders) won the Layne Beachley Medal for best performing female. Each surfer also received $1000.

Nick Squiers (Scarborough Boardriders) won the Milwaukee Heavy Duty Hack Award for the surfer who displayed the biggest and best power move and won $1500 in Milwaukee equipment and $1000.

Bondi Boardriders won the Fox Sports Patriot Award and $5000 for the club that demonstrated the most passionate spirit during the National Final after bringing a robust support crew to Cronulla complete with three-piece band.

Snapper Rocks and Coffs Harbour also won $1000 and $500 of FCS product for finishing first and second.

Snapper Rocks Boardriders 5525
Coffs Harbour Boardriders 4800
Culburra Boardriders 4262
North Narrabeen 4250
Avoca Boardriders 4174
Merewether Surfboard Club 4062
Point Lookout Boardriders 4050
Bondi Boardriders 3862
Byron Boardriders 3851
Le Ba Boardriders 3850
Scarborough Boardriders 3762
Margaret River Boardriders 3750
Kirra Surfriders 3674
South Coast Boardriders 3550
Cronulla Sharks Boardriders 3362
Philip Island Boardriders 3162
Peninsula Surfriders 3063
Burleigh Boardriders 3062
Coolum Boardriders 2750
South Arm Boardriders 2550

Latest News


GRAND OPENING – New Club Facility

3rd Feb 2018 Come and celebrate the Grand Opening of our new Facility Rego Day...

read more

Latest Gallery


Golf Fundraiser Day


© Coffs Harbour Boardriders 2012 - 2018 All Rights Reserved :: Website by Giant Media :: ADMIN